church ridgway ouray colorado
About Us > Denomination Affiliation

Denomination Affiliation


The United Church of the San Juans is an ecumenical united church that became affiliated with four mainline denominations in April 2005: Lutheran (ELCA), United Methodist, Presbyterian (USA), and United Church of Christ. Each member of the church is officially a member of all four denominations.


Our church will receive help from the four denominations in finding pastors to serve the church, in obtaining resources for worship and education, and in meeting state and federal obligations. Donations from the church help to support the worldwide mission efforts of the denominations. We provide a presence for them in our locale, an area with insufficient population to support separate churches for all of them.

Through our ecumenical affiliation and other efforts, we seek to promote Christian unity and understanding.


To find out more about our affiliations, click on the links below:

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America
United Methodist Church
United Methodist Church
Presbyterian Church USA
Presbyterian Church (USA)
United Church of Christ
United Church of Christ


Home / About Us / Worship / Youth /News & Events / Ministries / Contact Us
©2008 The United Church of the San Juans
PO Box 295, Ridgway, Colorado, USA 81432 | Phone:  970.626.5803
Church is located at 295 Lena Street, Ridgway, CO  81432
Contact Webmaster